Publication Policies

Fraunhofer-ePrints

The Fraunhofer-ePrints full-text server archives specialist publications of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, its institutes, and its employees.

The following types of documents are held:

  • Journal articles
  • Articles in compendiums and conference proceedings
  • Monographs
  • Theses (professorial and doctoral dissertations)
  • Conference papers and proceedings
  • Research reports
  • Patents and registered designs
  • Grey literature

The primary aim of the Fraunhofer-ePrints is on the one hand to archive as many electronic full-texts as possible that have already been published elsewhere; on the other, to enable public access to scientific grey literature of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft such as institute reports, theses (only with permission from the institutes concerned), presentation manuscripts and posters.

Subject headings and abstracts will be provided by the institute library respectively by the author himself.
Any document will also be assigned to a DDC-group.

The FhG-Online team at the Fraunhofer Information Centre for Regional Planning and Building Construction (IRB), in cooperation with the research institutes and their libraries, is responsible for the maintenance and support of the Fraunhofer-Publica.

The ePrints-server, whose content coverage is a subset of that of Fraunhofer-Publica, provides electronic access to full-text documents that are published by the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. Electronic documents (e.g. journal articles, reports, theses, posters, etc.) submitted for publication in the Fraunhofer-Publica and ePrints-server shall be made available for public access (indirect access through the two above-mentioned databases). Additionally, these documents shall be archived (in a separate document server) in their original format as provided by the authors. For authentication purposes, all publicly accessible documents in our databases are assigned permanent addresses and "fingerprints" (MD5). With the exception of dissertations and some publications from commercial publishers, each electronic document shall be assigned a "persistent identifier" (URN, Uniform Resource Name) which is registered with the Deutsche Bibliothek. Any document that has been changed (text, layout, etc.) is regarded as a new document, and shall be saved separately as a new record in the databases.

The metadata of the Fraunhofer-Publica and ePrints-server is made available to interested information providers (e.g. repositories, portals) through OAI-PMH, a standard protocol for metadata harvesting.

Authors contributing documents to Fraunhofer-Publica and Fraunhofer-ePrints retain the copyright to their documents, and are entitled to submit their documents to other publishers (e.g. monographs, journals) or document servers for publication. On the other hand, it is the responsibility of the authors, to ensure that the disclosure of their documents will not infringe the copyrights of any third party.

Our basic duties are to:
  • archive and make available all electronic documents for at least 5 years
  • assign unique identifiers to each document (e.g. ID, URL, URN)
  • ensure a unique connection between every metadata set and its corresponding electronic full-text document
  • guarantee the authenticity of electronic documents (by means of MD5-codes)
  • make available metadata in professional circles through standard protocols (Z39.50, Dublin Core, harvesting using OAI PMH 2.0)

 

The technical procedures regarding data retention, data supply, and data protection are described in the section "Technical Documentation".

top

Veröffentlichungsgrundsätze

Fraunhofer-ePrints

Der Volltextserver Fraunhofer-ePrints verzeichnet Fachveröffentlichungen der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, ihrer Institute sowie deren Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter.
Die in der Datenbank abgedeckten Fachgebiete entsprechen den Forschungsgebieten der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft.
Es sind folgende Arten von Dokumenten enthalten:

  • Zeitschriftenaufsätze
  • Aufsätze aus Büchern oder Konferenzbänden
  • Monographien
  • Hochschulschriften (Habilitations-Schriften, Dissertationen)
  • Tagungsbände/Proceedings
  • Forschungsberichte/Reports
  • Patente und Gebrauchsmuster
  • Graue Literatur (d.h. nicht über den Buchhandel erhältliche Literatur)

Fraunhofer-ePrints sieht es zum einen als seine Aufgabe an, möglichste viele der Texte, die in anderen Erscheinungsformen bereits publiziert worden sind, als Volltexte vorzuhalten. Gleichzeitig möchte die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft besonders auch den Zugang zu originären Beiträgen, die an keiner anderen Stelle veröffentlicht wurden, ermöglichen. Dies gilt u.a. für Reports der Institute, Hochschularbeiten (wie Diplom- und Seminararbeiten) – sofern sie von dem entsprechenden Fraunhofer-Institut autorisiert wurden – sowie Vortragsmanuskripte und Poster.

Die inhaltliche Erschließung der Dokumente über freie Schlagworte und Abstracts erfolgt durch den Autor selbst bzw. durch dessen Beauftragten (Fraunhofer-Institutsbibliothek).
Darüber hinaus werden alle auf Fraunhofer-ePrints eingestellte Publikationen den entsprechenden Fachgruppen der Dewey-Dezimalklassifikation (DDC) zugeordnet.

Die Datenbank wird im Fraunhofer-Informationszentrum Raum und Bau Stuttgart (IRB) vom FhG-Online-Team in Zusammenarbeit mit den Fraunhofer-Instituten und deren Bibliotheken erstellt.
Fraunhofer-ePrints ist ein Teilsegment der Fraunhofer-Publica mit elektronisch direkt verfügbaren Dokumenten ("Volltexten"). Elektronische Dokumente (z.B. Aufsätze, Forschungsberichte, Hochschulschriften, Posters, usw.), die zur Publikation in Fraunhofer-Publica und Fraunhofer-ePrints angemeldet sind, werden für den öffentlichen Zugang zur Verfügung gestellt. Zusätzlich werden diese Dokumente im Einreichungsformat gesondert auf einem Dokumentserver dauerhaft archiviert. Alle öffentlich zugreifbaren Dokumente erhalten dauerhafte Adressen (indirekter Zugriff über die Datenbank) und werden mit einem "Fingerprint" (MD5) versehen, um ihre Authentizität zu gewährleisten. Mit Ausnahme von Dissertationen, Habilitationen und bestimmter Verlagspublikationen erhalten die Dokumente zudem einen, bei der Deutschen Bibliothek registrierten "persistent Identifier" (URN, uniform resource name). Veränderte Texte etc. gelten als neue Dokumente und werden gesondert nachgewiesen, gespeichert und verfügbar gemacht.
Die Metadaten aus Fraunhofer-Publica und Fraunhofer-ePrints werden unabhängig voneinander über eine standardisierte Schnittstelle (OAI-PMH, protocol for metadata harvesting) fremden Datenanbietern (Portalen, Repositories) zur Verfügung gestellt.

Die Urheberrechte der Autorinnen und Autoren bleiben gewahrt. Die Veröffentlichung auf dem Dokumenten- und Publikationsserver steht einer weiteren Veröffentlichung der Dokumente in Fachzeitschriften oder Monographien sowie auf anderen Servern nicht entgegen. Umgekehrt liegt die Einhaltung von Urheber- und Verwertungsrechten Dritter in der Verantwortung der Autorinnen und Autoren bzw. der Herausgeber der elektronischen Dokumente.
Generell verpflichten wir uns

  • elektronische Dokumente für mindestens 5 Jahre zu archivieren und verfügbar zu halten,
  • eindeutige Kennungen für jedes Dokumente festzulegen (ID, URL, URN),
  • die eindeutige Verbindung von Metadaten und elektronischen Dokumenten zu gewährleisten,
  • die Authentizität der Dokumente sicher zu stellen (Nachweis der Unversehrheit durch MD5-Code),
  • der Fachwelt Metadaten in Standardformaten (Z39.50, Dublin Core, Harvesting über OAI-PMH 2.0-Schnittstelle) zur Verfügung zu stellen,

 

Die technischen Verfahren zur Datenhaltung, Datenbereitstellung, Datensicherung usw. sind in der Rubrik Technische Dokumentation beschrieben.

nach oben