Frequently Asked Questions

Fraunhofer-ePrints

What is Fraunhofer-ePrints?

Fraunhofer-ePrints is a full-text archive comprising all electronic publications (ePrints) of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and its employee.

top


Why should I publish my works with Fraunhofer-ePrints?

There are good reasons why you should publish your works with Fraunhofer-ePrints:

  • As more and more libraries are being forced to cancel journal subscriptions to stay within budgets, it is important that you also disseminate your works via alternative channels. This makes them easier to access and more visible.
  • The technology of the Internet enables worldwide access to your texts. Free usage promotes exchange of knowledge with research colleagues around the world.
  • Your scholarly works in our ePrints-server are archived on a long term basis, and are assigned "persistent identifiers" (URN, Uniform Resource Name) to make them searchable and accessible on the Internet. Furthermore, the ePrints-server is regularly queried (harvested) by other content providers. Hence, Fraunhofer-ePrints improves the visibility of your works and enhances your personal impact on scholarly research.

top


How does ePrints differ from Fraunhofer-Publica?

Fraunhofer-ePrints represents a subset of the content covered in Fraunhofer-Publica. While Publica archives all publications (regardless of their physical forms) of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, ePrints collects only electronic documents that the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft are allowed to publish as full-texts, i.e. without infringing the copyrights of any third party.

top


Do I need to repeat my document registration with Fraunhofer-Publica?

No. The full-text documents and their associated bibliographic data (metadata) that you submit to Fraunhofer-ePrints will be automatically duplicated in Fraunhofer-Publica.

top


Who can register his/her document(s) with Fraunhofer-ePrints?

Normally, the information manager (Fachinformationsmanager) of your institute is responsible for registering your publication with Fraunhofer-ePrints. You may, however, make use of the prescribed online form to register and upload your full-text documents directly. A brief quality check is made on all submitted documents before they are made available on the World Wide Web. Any employee of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft may register his/her documents with Fraunhofer-ePrints, as long as the documents are in an electronic format. On the other hand, it is the responsibility of the authors to ensure that the publication of their documents will not infringe the copyright of any third party (cf. "Copyright").

top


What types of documents will be accepted?

All documents related to the scientific research of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft can be accepted for publication in Fraunhofer-ePrints, for example, industrial studies, research reports, journal articles, conference papers, presentations, posters and dissertations. On the other hand, information material such as flyers, announcements, minutes, etc. will not be accepted. Student research projects may only be submitted with the consent of the institute concerned.

top


How long will the documents be made available?

The documents in Fraunhofer-ePrints are archived on a long-term basis. In principle, these documents will be made available for as long as possible, and a minimum period of 5 years is guaranteed.

top


What important points do I need to consider before I submit my document(s) to Fraunhofer-ePrints?

Fraunhofer-ePrints offers free public access to the electronic publications of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and its employees. It is therefore important for you to ensure that the publication of your documents will not infringe the copyright of any third party before you register your documents with us (for further information see "Copyright").

top


Do my files (documents) need to be in a certain format?

The documents should be in a uniform and platform-independent format. This format is currently PDF (Adobe Portable Document Format) as it provides the most benefits. Should you be unable to present your documents in the PDF-format, we will be glad to do the PDF-conversion for you. Please ensure that you do not lock the PDF, as otherwise a full-text indexing is not possible (for further information see "Dokument Types & Formats").

top


Can I submit documents that have already been published elsewhere?

It depends on the copyright restrictions stipulated in the contracts that you have signed with your publishers. However, many publishers do allow parallel publication in non-profit or institutional repositories (for further information see "Informationen zum Urheberrecht").

top


What are preprints and postprints?

Publishers often distinguish between preprints and postprints in their policies on self-archiving articles. A preprint is a manuscript that has been submitted to the publishers and is still in the review phase or is currently being printed. A postprint, on the other hand, is the printed copy in the publisher’s layout. Publishers usually only allow the posting of preprints on institutional repositories, in order to protect their own layout.

top


The downloading of large PDF documents from Fraunhofer-ePrints takes a long time or it causes

my browser to crash. I am using Firefox as browser. Why?

This is a bug in Firefox. Normally, you only need to wait slightly longer than usual for the document to open. This problem can be solved by changing the settings in Firefox to launch PDF files using the Acrobat Reader, and not the Firefox’s Acrobat plug-in:
Tools > Options > Content >File types > Manage > Change Action
(deselect the Acrobat plug-in, and select Acrobat Reader as the standard application to open PDF files)

top

FAQ

Fraunhofer-ePrints

Was ist Fraunhofer-ePrints?

Fraunhofer-ePrints ist ein Volltextarchiv für alle elektronischen Publikationen der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft und ihrer Mitarbeiter.

nach oben


Warum sollte ich meine Arbeit auf Fraunhofer-ePrints veröffentlichen?

Es gibt gute Gründe, warum Sie Ihre Arbeit auf dem ePrints-Server veröffentlichen sollten:

  • Da aus finanziellen Gründen in Bibliotheken immer mehr Zeitschriften abbestellt werden, ist es wichtig, Ihre Forschungsergebnisse auch anderweitig zu publizieren. Sie werden damit leicht zugänglich und sichtbarer.
  • Die Internet-Technologie ermöglicht prinzipiell den weltweiten Zugriff auf Ihre Arbeiten. Die kostenfreie Nutzung fördert einen Austausch mit Forschungskollegen in aller Welt.
  • Wir archivieren Ihre wissenschaftlichen Publikationen dauerhaft und zitierfähig mit standardisierten Adressen (so genannte URNs), sodass Ihre Publikationen über (gewöhnliche) Suchmaschinen gefunden werden. Fraunhofer-ePrints wird darüber hinaus von verschiedenen Portalanbietern regelmäßig abgefragt. Damit erreichen Sie eine weitere Verbreitung Ihrer Arbeit und erhöhen Ihren persönlichen Impact-Faktor.

nach oben


Was ist der Unterschied zur Fraunhofer-Publica?

Fraunhofer-ePrints stellt eine Teilmenge der Veröffentlichungsdatenbank "Fraunhofer-Publica" dar. In der Publica sind alle Publikationen der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft unabhängig von ihrer physischen Form nachgewiesen. Auf dem ePrints-Server finden Sie nur die Publikationen, für die die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft das Recht hat, diese als Volltexte anzubieten.

nach oben


Muss ich meine Publikation noch extra für die Fraunhofer-Publica anmelden?

Nein, mit dem Anmelden Ihrer elektronischen Publikation werden die bibliographischen Daten mit dem zugehörigen Volltext auch in die Fraunhofer-Publica eingebracht.

nach oben


Wer kann Dokumente für Fraunhofer-ePrints anmelden?

Normalerweise meldet der/die Fachinformationsmanager/in Ihres Institutes den Text an Fraunhofer-ePrints. Wenn Sie dies selbst machen wollen, dann können Sie das hier tun. Die Dokumente werden von uns dann nach kurzer Qualitätskontrolle übernommen und im WWW veröffentlicht. Alle Mitarbeiter der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft können ihre Veröffentlichungen für Fraunhofer-ePrints anmelden, sofern diese in elektronischer Form vorliegen. Bitte prüfen Sie vorher ab, dass mit einer Veröffentlichung keine Rechte Dritter verletzt werden (weitere Informationen finden Sie unter "Urheberrecht").

nach oben


Welche Dokumente können eingebracht werden?

Alle Dokumente, die aus der wissenschaftlichen Forschungsarbeit an einem Fraunhofer-Institut entstehen und nicht nur tagesaktuellen Bezug haben, beispielsweise Studien, Forschungsberichte, Berichte, Aufsätze, Konferenzbeiträge, Vorträge, Poster und Hochschulschriften. Nicht eingebracht werden sollten reine Informationsmaterialien (Faltblätter), Ankündigungen, Gesprächsnotizen etc. Studienarbeiten können nur in Absprache mit dem betreffenden Institut übernommen werden.

nach oben


Wie lange bleiben die Dokumente verfügbar?

Die Dokumente werden langfristig unter einer verlässlichen Struktur auf dem Fraunhofer-ePrints gespeichert. Die Verfügbarkeit soll so lange wie möglich gewährleistet werden, mindestens jedoch für 5 Jahre.

nach oben


Was muss ich vor der Anmeldung meiner Dokumente für Fraunhofer-ePrints beachten?

Auf Fraunhofer-ePrints werden frei verfügbare elektronische Dokumente von Mitarbeitern der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft angeboten. Bitte überprüfen Sie daher vor einer Anmeldung unbedingt, ob durch eine Veröffentlichung des Volltextes in Fraunhofer-ePrints Rechte Dritter verletzt werden (weitere Informationen finden Sie unter "Urheberrecht").

nach oben


Muss meine Datei ein bestimmtes Format haben?

Die Dokumente sollen in einem einheitlichen, plattformunabhängigen Dokumentformat angeboten werden. Dieses Format ist derzeit PDF (Adobe Portable Document Format), da es aktuell die meisten Vorteile bietet. Sollte Ihr Dokument noch nicht als PDF vorliegen, sind wir Ihnen gerne bei der Konvertierung behilflich. Bitte achten Sie darauf, dass Sie das PDF nicht sperren, da sonst eine Volltextindizierung nicht möglich ist (weitere Informationen finden Sie unter "Dokumenttypen und - format ").

nach oben


Kann ich auch anderweitig veröffentlichte Publikationen auf Fraunhofer-ePrints ablegen?

Das hängt von den Vereinbarungen ab, die der Autor mit der veröffentlichenden Stelle (z.B. einem Verlag) getroffen hat. Zahlreiche Verlage erlauben eine elektronische Parallelpublikation, sofern es sich um einen Non-Profit-Server handelt (weitere Informationen finden Sie unter "Urheberrecht").

nach oben


Was heißt Preprint und Postprint?

Die Verlage unterscheiden bei den Veröffentlichungen zwischen "Preprints" und "Postprints". Von einem Preprint spricht man, wenn bereits ein Manuskripte beim Verlag eingereicht wurde und es sich entweder noch im Gutachter-Verfahren befindet oder gerade gedruckt wird. Ein Postprint ist dagegen das gedruckte Exemplar in Verlagslayout. Oftmals fordern die Verlage, dass auf dem institutionellen Server lediglich das Preprint abgelegt wird, um ihr eigenes Layout zu schützen.

nach oben


Wenn ich lange PDF-Dokumente aus Fraunhofer-ePrints lade, dauert es sehr lange oder mein Browser stürzt ab. Ich verwende Firefox als Browser. Warum?

Dies ist ein Bug bei Firefox. Normalerweise müssen Sie nur ein wenig länger als üblich warten, bis sich das Dokument öffnet. Über "Extras > Einstellungen > Inhalt > Dateitypen Verwalten" können Sie die Einstellung, wie Firefox mit PDFs umgehen soll ändern. Wählen Sie das Format "PDF" aus und gehen Sie auf "Aktion ändern". Die Standardeinstellung sieht vor, dass das Acrobat-Plugin verwendet wird. Klicken Sie stattdessen "mit Standardanwendung öffnen" an und stellen Sie sicher, dass der Acrobat Reader als Anwendung genannt ist.

nach oben